Welcome Guest!!!

Thank you for visiting the GM Kappa Performance Forum. This forum is the only performance oriented forum for all GM Kappa Platform Enthusiasts.  We hope you will join and share your experiences.  Becoming a member is FREE! If you want to advertise on this forum, email KappaPerformance at yahoo.com.

Registration required to view the forum attachments. Below is a sample of the current top 25 topics.
Supporting Membership has many advantages.

More information on becoming a supporting member or vendor can be found on the sub forum; Site Help and Suggestions; thread - Supporting Members and Vendors.

Author Topic: Fitment questions between stock 18" rim and 20" rims  (Read 3102 times)

Offline KWhale

• Playing with my
  • Premium Member
  • Master Tech
Fitment questions between stock 18" rim and 20" rims
« on: February 22, 2009, 03:23:42 PM »
OK, so I've been researching getting a set of 20" rims for my 2007 GXP.  The rims I like come in the correct bolt pattern, and size I want, but the offset is too low, and not wanting to go the custom route, I decided to see what affect the low offset actually has.

Just to get everyone on the same page, our stock Solstice rims are
18x8, 5x110 bolt pattern, with a 55mm offset on 245/45/18 tires.
The rims I want to try are
20x8.5, 5x110 bolt pattern, with a 34mm offset on 245/35/20 tires.

OK, before you beat me up, I know the only real issue with these rims IS the offset.  So, not being all that knowledgeable at tires and rims and offsets, I did some research.  I found a great site for fitment calculations, and I know they are not a vendor here, but their prices are all higher than our supporting vendors, so I thought it would be OK to post a link to their Tech Section.  If you go to the link below, you can use several of their calculators to play with rim and tire combination's to see what might fit on any car.  The link to get there is http://www.1010tires.com/tech.asp and I was going to the "Sizing" sections.