Forum > Drive Train and Suspension

Spring Swap "How To"

(1/10) > >>

Gentleman Jack:
This is my first attempt at a "How To" thread, so forgive me if it's not perfect.  :violin:

Background:

After recieving a set of Z0K Springs (Thanks CT!) I found some time and decided to try to take a photo pictorial of the job and post the results here.  I have a mostly stock 2007 Solstice GXP.  At the time of writing I have the following mods:

1. Tune
2. DDM Backbone
3. DDM Cross bay brace
4. DDM Coil Cover
5. New wheels (Kazera) and Tires (Yokohama S-drive) in stock sizes
6. a few nice bits from JPM
7. ZOK Springs with stock shocks (as of today :) )

The Job requires only a few basic tools and depending on how AR you are, some detailing spray, brake cleaner, rags, toothbrush, some food bits, beer and some good weather.

Here is just about everything I needed:

In addition to what you see in the picture you will also need the following:
Jack
Jack Stands (4)
19MM (lug nuts.  yours may be different)
beverages, food and some patience.  If you want to track the changes in ride height, you will also need a tape measure. 

Ride Heights BEFORE:

CONTINUED

Gentleman Jack:
REMOVAL:

After jacking the car up and setting it on all 4 jack stands and doing all the appropriate SAFETY checks, remove the wheels and set them aside for a good cleaning all around prior to reinstallation.  This is also a good time to take some brake cleaner and detailing spray and clean out the wheel wells.  Might as well get as much of the grime out now so you don't get it all over yourself.  A final cleaning of these areas prior to reinstallation of the wheels is also recommended.  On the front passenger side, I also removed the wheel well liner.  This was for another project and is not a requirement for this project.

We will start with the FRONT:
WARNING: Disconnect the two wire plug!

There are several nuts and bolts that need to be removed:
1. Upper Ball Joint (18MM) {pink arrow}